ICD-10 More Information

ICD-10 is the abbreviated term used to refer to the International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM) and the International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Procedure Coding System (ICD-10-PCS).

  • ICD-10-CM: This diagnosis code set will replace ICD-9-CM Volumes 1 and 2.
  • ICD-10-PCS: This code set of inpatient procedures will replace ICD-9-CM Volume 3.
ICD 10 Information and Resources

Who Will Use ICD-10?

  • ICD-10-CM (diagnoses) will be used by all providers in every health care setting.
  • ICD-10-PCS (procedures) will be used only for hospital claims for inpatient hospital procedures.
  • ICD-10-PCS will not be used on physician claims, even those for inpatient visits.
  • CPT and HCPCS will continue to be used for physician and ambulatory services including physician visits to inpatients.
  • Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) and Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) codes are not affected.
icd-10 healthcare education

ICD-10 Transition Timeline

October 2011 – ICD-9-CM code sets freeze.

October 2012 – Limited code updates to both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10 code sets to capture new technology and new diseases.

August 2015 – Official ICD-10 code set freezes. There will be no more changes to the ICD-10 code set.

October 1, 2015 – This is the official compliance date for implementation of ICD-10-CM (diagnoses) and ICD-10-PCS (procedures).

Understand these Important ICD-10 Billing Dates

  • Date of service for ambulatory and physician reporting: Ambulatory and physician services provided on or after October 1, 2015 will use ICD-10-CM diagnosis codes.
  • Date of discharge for hospital claims for inpatient settings:  Inpatient discharges occurring on or after October 1, 2015 will use ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS codes.
  • ICD-9-CM codes will not be accepted for services provided on or after October 1, 2015.
  • ICD-10 codes will not be accepted for services prior to October 1, 2015.

ICD-10 vs. ICD-9

Implementation of the ICD-10 code sets will expand the number of diagnosis codes from 14,000 to approximately  69,000 and  the number of inpatient procedure codes will grow from almost 4,000 to an estimated 72,000.

The new coding system will require more specific document from physicians about the care provided to patients. For example, ICD-10 has added "laterality" (i.e. distinguishing between left and right) to its structure.

Thus, not only will physicians will need to document this detail, but coders and other individuals that work with ICD codes will need to understand basic anatomy and physiology. The conversion to ICD-10 is expected to improve the data that is available for:

  • Measuring the quality, safety, and efficacy of care.
  • Designing payment systems and processing claims for reimbursement.
  • Conducting research, epidemiological studies, and clinical trials.
  • Improving clinical, financial, and administrative performance.
  • Preventing and detecting healthcare fraud and abuse.


ICD-10 vs. ICD-9

ICD-10 Online Training by Litmos Healthcare

Litmos Healthcare is the leading provider of Revenue Cycle online education. Available online, anytime and anywhere, Litmos Healthcare's education brings the knowledge you need in order to stay abreast of rapid changes in the medical billing field.

Litmos Healthcare's ICD-10 online education series the perfect fit for all healthcare organizations converting from ICD-9 to ICD-10. To learn more, contact us at healthcareinfo@litmos.com or call 1.866.447.2211.

Appropriate PHI Safeguards. Includes Training & Policies, Procedures